Campus Fountain

Strategic Enrollment Committee

Meeting Date/Time:  2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 12:45 pm to 2:00 pm

Strategic Enrollment Management Committee
In 2017, the Abbreviated Strategic Enrollment Management Plan established that: A Strategic Enrollment Management Plan (SEMP) will be developed by the Office of Educational Programs. A SEM Committee will be established to guide this process. Members from all constituent groups will be represented. 

As an open-entry institution, Santa Barbara City College serves a diverse student body with wide-ranging educational goals. SBCC’s Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) committee encompasses recruitment, enrollment, retention, and goal completion from an institution-wide perspective. At its core, SEM decision-making is student-centered and fiscally responsible. 

In order to ensure long-term viability, SBCC regularly adapts programs and services to meet the changing needs of its communities and students. SEM addresses current realities, adapts to the changing environment, and includes proactive planning. At Santa Barbara City College,  SEM is a shared responsibility that ensures fiscal stability and viability by optimizing enrollments and integrating SEM into financial planning, budgeting, and allocation processes.

Decision-Making Process: 
The committee will discuss and decide the process for shared decision-making that includes adequate time for deliberation and consideration by all constituency groups. Membership includes both resource (non-voting) and constituent  (Academic Senate, Associated Student Government, Classified Consultation Group, and District administrator) representation. Formal recommendations will receive first- and second-readings by all groups. Voting on formal recommendations, when necessary, will function with a simple majority vote format. 


  • Strategic Enrollment Management Plan and Assessment
  • Academic Calendar Review and Recommendations
  • Priority Registration Dates
  • Efficiency Target Recommendations
  • Waitlist practices and class cancelation guidelines among other matters.

SEM Plan Adopted in Fall 2022: Strategic Enrollment Management Plan (SEMP)


Non-Voting Resource Members
*Dr. María Villagómez: Co-Chair
*Paloma Arnold: Co-Chair
*Carola Smith: Co-Chair
Michael Medel
Office of IR - Melanie Rogers

By Position:
Rudy Hill: Controller
Elizabeth Imhof: Instructional Dean
Christopher Johnson: Associate Dean of Student Affairs
Jens Kuhn: Instructional Dean
Angelica Contreras: Acting Director of Admissions & Records & Dual Enrollment
Vanessa Pelton: Director, Enrollment and Retention Services
Alan Price: Instructional Dean
Margaret Prothero: Guided Pathways Faculty Coordinator
Jordan Killebrew: Executive Director, Public Affairs and Communications
Beth Taylor-Schott: Dean
Sara Volle: Assessment/Placement Coordinator
Alejandra Ildefonso: School of Extended Learning
Monica Campbell: School of Extended Learning
Christina Llerena: Dean of Student Affairs

Academic Senate Reps:
*Kimberly Monda (Senate President)
Gwyer Schuyler
Tara Carter
Elizabeth Chisholm
Dave Saunders
Pamela Shaw
Stephanie Washburn

Constituent Reps:
Anna Parmely (FA)
Maureen McRae Goldberg (ALA)
Valdas Karalis (CCG)
*Mari Lopez-Manzo (CCG)

* Member of Steering Committee